Chill SQ a relaxing collection of role-playing game themes

Jerry on 2010-05-27
Chill SQ is the second installment in Square Enix's "SQ" series of cover albums. Comprised of laid-back electronic and acoustic arrangements, the compilation revisits seven separate role-playing game themes.

Available for purchase on compact disc through CDJapan and available digitally through Apple Music, Chill SQ's physical release debuted in May of 2010 on compact disc. The arrangers reinterpret memorable compositions by Kenji Ito (Romancing SaGa), Nobuo Uematsu (Final Fantasy), Noriko Matsueda (Final Fantasy X-2) and Yoko Shimomura (Kingdom Hearts).

Arranged by Kenmochi Hidefumi, an Adventure of Mana medley for guitar, bass and keyboard tie together "Rising Sun," "Endless Battlefield," and "Requiem" from the action role-playing game for Game Boy. Uyama Hiroto offers an acoustic arrangement of the "Theme of Love" from Final Fantasy IV. Electronic covers are contributed by Final Fantasy XIII-2 co-composer Mitsuto Suzuki (revisiting the main theme from Final Fantasy Legend for Game Boy), as well as Okadaka (reinterpreting Front Mission's "Within Living Memory") and RE:NDZ ("Warm A Live" from Live A Live).

In addition, Q;indivi offers a vocal cover of "Aria" from the opera scene in Final Fantasy VI, featuring chorus vocals by Rin Oikawa. To conclude, Akira Kosemura arranges "Dear Friends" from Final Fantasy V for electric piano, keyboards, violin and guitar. Excerpts from the Chill SQ album are streaming on YouTube, courtesy of Square Enix.

CDJapan - Chill SQ on compact disc

Apple Music - Chill SQ (Digital)